My Monkey Story

I had an unexpected experience in a resort in Munnar, India.

My daughter and I were sitting on the sofa in our rented unit on the third floor with the windows open. These were completely open slider windows with no iron bars or window grilles or a mesh screen blocking the view or in this case one can say the way.

I was immersed in my book  and was shocked out of it by a screech that I had never heard before in my life. It was my daughter screaming while madly bolting out of the room . What I saw next was a monkey jumping into the unit and grabbing a banana from the fruit platter on the corner table. There was another one right behind it, ready to jump in. I  rushed towards the monkeys shooing them away before slamming the window shut.

To my astonishment the second monkey stood tall right there on the other side of the window  looking alternatively at me and  rest of the fruits at the corner table. We both stood still on either side of the window sizing each other and our situation up. I was desperately thinking as to what to do next. My random thought was that if I took the fruit platter away from its sight while  it was  still watching it might come again and again thinking the fruit is still inside somewhere. So I just stood there looking straight into its eyes hoping to chase it away.

Suddenly I heard a rustling noise coming from my left. I turned to realize that it was another monkey peeking in through that window which I had presumed was closed but apparently it wasn’t. I leaped towards the monkey, shooing it away and slamming the window shut. I then quickly ran from one room to another checking if all the windows were closed. They were, but at one window I saw a much bigger monkey trying to open the window  as a human would do. I stood amazed at this sight.

At one level  I was marvelling at its intelligence and determination and at some basic  level  I was experiencing something primal. I was defending my young one and my territory from them. Somewhere there for few minutes it was two primates negotiating with each other.  I felt so charged and fearless as I had never felt before. As soon as everything looked under control I started trembling in the aftermath of my adrenaline rush.

2 thoughts on “My Monkey Story

Leave a Reply

